Step 1 – make up detox

I know make up can make a significant difference to my self esteem and my confidence but it’s also the thing that goes out the window when I’m not feeling good about myself.  If I’m not in a good place mentally, I don’t make the time to properly present myself and as a result I send up feeling invisible and more miserable – a terrible cycle.

My vision of Vixen involves being well presented and making the effort to be the best me I can be at all times.  It’s not about covering anything up, but doing what I can to emphasise my best features.  To be able to be a vixen every day I need to refine and simplify so putting on make up isn’t a daunting experience.

All last week I consciously made the effort to put on full make up each day and it actually made a massive difference to my confidence.  In reality The hardest part of doing make up every day was finding what I needed in my make up collection!   Like most women I have far too many products and have of them are expired or don’t even suit me.  I decided to do a make up detox – get rid of the clutter and make it easier and more streamlined for me to do a full face of make up each day.

I brought all of my make up out to my dining room table and grouped them into types of make up (the scariest part was that I have only been in Australia 2 years and I did a big cull when I moved, but somehow I already have this much product).

Rule 1 – Get rid of anything past its use by date:

  • Powders including blush, bronzers and shadows – 2 years
  • Cream shadows and blush – 12-18 months
  • Oil free foundation – 12 months
  • Liquid foundation – 12 months
  • Cream compact foundation – 18 months
  • Concealers – 12-18 months
  • Lipstick and lip liner – 12 months
  • Lip gloss – 18-24 months
  • Pencil eyeliner – 24 months
  • Liquid or gel eyeliner – 3 months
  • Mascara – 3 months

Rule 2 – Any duplicates, choose the best one and get rid of the rest.  In my search to find the perfect black liquid eyeliner I had 4 in my collection.  Three of them didn’t show as dark black when applied so I tried a different brand – why didn’t I throw them away at the time?  I was never going to use them as they didn’t create the look I want!

Rule 3 – Get rid of costume make up or colours that don’t suit you.

Rule 4 – Get rid of products you don’t use!  If you haven’t used it in the last month are you going to?  If you are unsure leave it out for the next 4 weeks, if you still don’t use it GET RID OF IT.

So what did I end up with:

  • 1 Everyday liquid foundation
  • 1 Higher coverage special occasion foundation
  • 1 Concealer
  • 1 Eyeshadow primer
  • 3 eyeshadow palettes which cover all basics and smoky eyes (Urban Decay)
  • 1 Black liquid eyeliner
  • Black, brown and white pencil eyeliner
  • 1 Brow pencil
  • 1 Black Mascara
  • 1 Blush
  • Red, light pink and nude lip liner
  • Red, light pink and nude lipstick

Now I have my refined range this should help free up time in the morning and allow me to easily do my make up every day.

EV xx

 

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

